What's On My Mind / Boyce & Hart, Monkees and More

Caroline Boyce

My Daughter Raina’s Trip to Peru March 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Caroline Boyce @ 12:04 pm

 I just want to share a few photos of my daughter Raina’s trip to Peru; her adventurous and challenging hike up to Machu Picchu and Amazon.  She and her two friends Meghan and Vallerie joined a group of 15 along with a guide. Raina likened this trip as the Ironman for the Traveller!  I’m glad she didn’t include photos of the tarantulas etc from the Amazon. She worked a day in a Peru clinic and held a successful conference sharing her knowledge as a specialist in hand therapy, posturing etc. then met up with her friends for their incredible journey.  I suppose you can say I’m a mom with bragging rights.



My daughter Raina just returned from a trip to Peruwhere she conducted a conference, hiked 4 days up to Machu Picchu, and an adventure to the Amazon… I’m so proud of her taking on such a challenging adventure!  She sent me the most beautiful Inca Cross that I found out has alot of symbolism and meaning and is very interesting:

The Chakana, or Inca Cross, is a powerful symbol of the Andes ancient cultures and is considered the most complete sacred geometrical design for the Incas.  The chakana symbol is found throughout the Andeas and can be seen in talisman or standalone design object form.  It can also be seen in the architectural designs on many buildings, temples and ancient monuments, such as at the temple of the condor in Machu Picchu
The three steps
The three steps represent levels of attainment of consciousness in the three ‘worlds’ or tiers:
1.       Hanan Pacha: the upper world of the stars, celestial beings and gods, universe (also represented by the condor)
2.       Kay Pacha: the middle world of Mother Earth and human life, here & now (also represented by the puma)
3.       Uqhu Pacha: the lower world of the underworld, inner realms, other world (also represented by the snake)
The 3 Primary Principals:
1.       Love (Munary) the love of self, love of humanity and the love of the gods
2.       Knowledge (Yachay) in the forms of intellect, experience, and consciousness
3.       Work (Llankay
Central hole
The central hole represents the Incan capital of Cusco, the portal from one tier to the next, and the Eye of God.
Twelve points
The entire symbol additionally represents the cyclical year, with each of the twelve corners corresponding to a month. The cross has 12 points and legend has it that these points represent the following sayings, affirmations and life points I Live, I Work, I Love; The Underworld, The Current World, The Upper World; The Condor, The Puma, The Snake; Don’t Lie, Don’t Steal, Don’t be Lazy
The top of the cross is said to represent God, or Wiracocha, with the highest level of consciousness being expressed as the Great Spiritual Central Sun.
Four arms
the four directions of the compass,
the four ‘classical elements’ of earth, air, water and fire,
the four main stars of the Southern Cross, an important constellation for the Inca, who believed that was the centre of the Universe.

Share Your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s